How did steve harvey get famous?

Steve Harvey, in full Broderick Steven Harvey, (born January 17, 1957, Welch, West Virginia, U.S.), American comedian, actor, author, and television and radio personality who first gained fame for his observational humour and later became known for his self-help advice,especially about relationships