Why do armpits grow hair?

Your underarm has a lot of apocrine glands, which produce sweat. This perspiration is made up of steroids, lipids, proteins, and other chemicals that can communicate information. So your ancestors might have needed that armpit hair to trap their sweaty scent for attracting a mate.