Why does the platypus lay eggs?

A study found that the platypus contains fewer copies of an egg-producing protein, called vitellogenin, than reptiles, meaning that they are not as dependent on these proteins to lay eggs. But the existence of this gene may explain why platypus lay eggs in the first place.