How did han solo meet chewbacca?

Han and Chewie first meet on an Empire slave ship while Lt. Solo is an Imperial pilot. Solo boards a derelict slaving craft to find that its cargo of Wookiee children had escaped, and a badly wounded Wookiee in the pilot's seat.