What does w. wiz mean?

What does w. wiz mean? Is someone a wiz or a whiz? Wiz is an alternative spelling of whiz in the sense one who has remarkable skill in something. Because these spellings came later and have no definitions of their own, they always bear replacement with the longer-established whiz