Who destroyed planet vegeta?

Raditz (in the Funimation dub of Dragon Ball Z) states that Planet Vegeta was destroyed by an asteroid three years before his arrival in his speech explaining Goku's backstory before Goku came to Earth, which is the story Frieza spread to keep the remaining Saiyans from turning on him.