How many calories are in one u. s. pound?

It depends on what substance you are weighing. Pure protein or carbohydrate provides 4 calories per gram; pure fat provides 9 calories per gram. A pound is 454 g, so 1,816 calories per pound of protein or carbohydrate, and 4,086 calories per pound of fat.