Who invented pole vaulting?

The origins of modern vaulting can be traced back to Germany in 1850s, when the sport was adopted by a gymnastic association, and in the Lake District region of England, where contests were held with ash or hickory poles with iron spikes in the end.The first recorded use of bamboo poles was in 1857.