Who invented peanut butter and chocolate?

Who invented peanut butter? Marcellus Gilmore Edson, a Canadian chemist and pharmacist invented it. He registered the first patent for a peanut paste in 1884. This was made by grinding roasted peanuts between two heated plates and was invented as a nutritional aid for people who could not chew.