What is a botanical trunk?

A tree trunk. From Wikipedia: In botany, the trunk (or bole) is the stem and main wooden axis of a tree, which is an important feature in tree identification, and which often differs markedly from the bottom of the trunk to the top, depending on the species. It's important for timber production.