What does the chloroplast do?

Chloroplasts produce energy through photosynthesis and oxygen-release processes, which sustain plant growth and crop yield. As such, chloroplasts are responsible for the biosynthesis of active compounds such as amino acids, phytohormones, nucleotides, vitamins, lipids, and secondary metabolites.