What's the difference between butter chicken and chicken tikka masala?

The main difference between these two dishes is that butter chicken has less of a tomato intensity and chicken tikka masala is less creamy than the butter chicken. Tikka masala is a dry dish that is cooked in the tandoor while butter chicken is cooked in a pan over a fire.