What is a battle rifle?

Battle rifle was originally used as term In describing mid-sized/ caliber rifles used in combat. Modern battle rifles largely resemble modern assault rifle designs, which replaced battle rifles in most roles, the term may also describe older military full-powered semi-automatic rifles ie M1 Garand.