What parish is lafayette louisiana in?

Lafayette Parish is a parish located in the U.S. state of Louisiana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 221,578. The parish seat is Lafayette. The parish was founded in 1823. Since 1992, Lafayette City and Lafayette Parish have operated as a consolidated government.