What's the recipe for a perfect manhattan?

In a mixing glass or cocktail shaker filled with ice, combine 2 ounces bourbon whiskey, half ounce sweet vermouth, half ounce dry vermouth, and 2 dashes orange bitters. Stir well, about 20 seconds, then strain into a cocktail glass. Add a lemon peel directly over drink and serve.