What is the function of the kidneys?

They help the body pass waste as urine. They also help filter blood before sending it back to the heart.

---

The kidneys perform many crucial functions, including: maintaining overall fluid balance. regulating and filtering minerals from blood. filtering waste materials from food, medications, and toxic substances