Does minecraft take wi fi?

You do need an internet connection to download the game, and to register it. And also if you want to add some mods, or download maps or worlds like puzzle worlds, or whatever tickles your fancy. ... If you want to play alone, on your own world, there is no reason to be online at all anyway.