Who started cryptocurrency?

Satoshi Nakamoto is a pseudonym for the person or people who helped develop the first bitcoin software and introduced the concept of cryptocurrency to the world in a 2008 paper. There has been widespread speculation about Satoshi Nakamoto's true identity.

---

Satoshi Nakamoto is a pseudonym for the person or people who helped develop the first bitcoin software and introduced the concept of cryptocurrency to the world in a 2008 paper. Nakamoto remained active in the creation of bitcoin and the blockchain until about 2010 but has not been heard from since.