What's the difference between fish sauce and oyster sauce?

Fish sauce typically is made out of a base of fermented anchovies. As its name reflects, oyster sauce is made out of reduced and caramelized oysters.

---

Fish sauce is typically made with the juice of fermented anchovies and salt, while oyster sauce is made from the caramelized juice of cooked oysters, sugar, and salt. Fish sauce has an umami flavor with savory, briny notes. Oyster sauce has a deep caramelized flavor and is more salty and sweet