How do you water african violets?

Feel the top of the soil: if it is dry to the touch, it is time to water. African violets should be allowed to dry out between watering. Overwatering can kill a plant. The fine roots of an African violet need air, which cannot penetrate a soggy wet soil mass. Use a saucer and water from the bottom