What is fermented cabbage?

There are two types of fermented cabbage. Sauerkraut from Germany and Kimchi a Korean staple. Each has distinctive qualities. Sauerkraut is sour cabbage made in a salt brin, from shredded cabbage heads while Kimchi is fermented with more salt and added spices.