How many tablespoons are in a knob of butter?

A knob of butter is basically a lump of butter. If a recipe says to add a knob of butter to a pan for sautéing, it usually means to add just enough butter to cover the bottom. Since we usually use sticks of butter here in the states, that may be from one to two tablespoons.