What is a fender?

A fender is an object placed on or beside another object for protection. Older cars had a metal "fender" on front and back to prevent "bumps" and "dings" to the body of the car. Also called "bumpers". A hearth fender prevents coals, ash, and wood debris from falling onto flooring or carpet.