What is the biggest dog species?

The English Mastiff. Averaging 36 inches in height and 200 to 230 pounds, this is definitely a dog that will keep the burglars away. The largest English Mastiff on record weighed 343 pounds. But despite this dog’s size, it’s actually known for being a sweet, docile breed.