What kind of fruit did eve eat?

In Western Europe, the fruit was often depicted as an apple, but proponents of the theory that the Garden of Eden was located somewhere in the Middle East suggest that the fruit was actually a pomegranate, a plant indigenous from Iran to the Himalayas and cultivated since ancient times