Are there bears in the jungle?

There are no bears in Africa right now, But in fact, evidence that there has been. Atlas Bears (Ursus arctos crowtherii) lived in North Africa and were a sub-species of Brown Bear. They covered much of Moroccan, Libyan and Tunisian mountains and forests. The last Atlas Bear was killed in the 1870's.