Why do they call hot dogs hot dogs?

they looked like the German dog the dachsaund and were sold from food carts where they were kept hot.

---

The hot dog was originally called a “dachshund sausage”. The credit of the name change should go to the cartoonist T.A. Dorgan, who in 1901 heard vendors yelling to sell “hot dachshund sausages”. He made a cartoon about it, but being unsure about the spelling of “dachshund”, he called it a “hotdog”.