What is the average height in seventeen hundred?

Research by professor Richard Steckel at Ohio State University, shows the average height of humans in the 1700's was 5 feet 5¾ inches. According to Steckel's analysis, heights decreased from an average of 68.27 inches in the early Middle Ages, to an average low of 65.75 inches in the 18th century.