What is light sleep?

Light sleep is the term for sleep that falls into the categories stage 1 and stage 2. It’s a Non-REM form of sleep and differs from heavy (deep) sleep of stage 3. Stage 1 makes up a small fraction of total sleep time (about 3%) and is mainly a transition between waking and Stage 2.