What's the difference between a full and a queen bed?

Full and queen-size mattresses are two of the most commonly bought mattress sizes on the market. A full-size mattress is smaller than a queen, measuring 54 inches wide and 76 inches long. A queen-size mattress adds an extra 6 inches to the width making it 60 inches wide and 80 inches long.