What is c. cap?

An amino acid in a particular position within a protein or polypeptide. The C cap residue of an alpha helix is the last amino acid residue at the C terminus of the helix. More precisely, it is defined as the last residue whose NH group is hydrogen-bonded to the CO group of residue i-4.