What is a shepherd staff?

A shepards staff is a pole with a question mark shape on the end of it. It is used to help herd sheep by directing them with it or blocking a path to them. The hook is used to grab the sheeps foot to hold the sheep so the shepard can give it a shot or hold it down for shearing.