When did lol dolls come out?

The dolls first went on sale in test markets at select Target stores in late 2016. MGA shipped out 500,000 of them, all of which sold out within two months. By late 2018, L.O.L. Surprise! had moved 800 million units and accounted for seven of the top 10 toys sold in the U.S.