What type of animal is little critter?

according to wikipedia dot org, Theresa Critter is an anthropomorphic character created by Mercer Mayer, critter who first appeared in the 1975 book Just for You. Although it's not specified, the Little Critter is, many have speculated to be a groundhog,guinea pig,hamster,wombat or porcupine.