How do you cook dressing?

If you mean dressing as in what you serve with turkey then it's baked in an oven in a pan as opposed to stuffing which is cooked in the actual turkey, soaking up all the drippings as the bird cooks. Stovetop stuffing, on the other hand is a packaged box food that you make in a saucepan.