What's a sci-fi weapon?

A sci-fi weapon is a weapon that only exists in fiction, or one that is so advanced it seems to come from a science fiction story. Fictional examples include ray guns, light sabers, blasters, and vibro-blades. Real weapons that have been called sci-fi include lasers, neutron bombs, and rail guns

---

A classic science fiction weapon particularly in British and American science fiction novels and films is the ray gun. A very early example of a ray gun is the Heat-Ray featured in H. G. Wells ' The War of the Worlds (1898)