Is mexico city in new mexico?

Mexico city is in the country of Mexico. The state is called new Mexico because it was conquered by the spanish after founding mexico City.

---

Formerly known as Mexico-Tenochtitlan (or just Tenochtitlan), Mexico City is the Capitol city of Mexico.