What happened to crocodile dundee?

Crocodile Dundee was a movie character played by Paul Hogan, an Australian actor. Hogan gained inspiration based on the real Crocodile Dundee, known as Rod Ansell. Ansell died in 1999 after a shoot out with police due to a drug related altercation.