What's the difference between tornado warning and tornado watch?

A tornado watch means there is a possibility of a tornado. A tornado warning means a tornado has been spotted.

---

A tornado watch is issued when weather conditions exist in which a tornado may occur. It covers a large area. A tornado warning is issued when a tornado has been spotted or is suspected. The warning covers the direction the tornado is expected to travel and is a relatively narrow path.

---

Tornado Watches are issued for counties where tornadoes may occur. The watch area is typically large, covering numerous counties or even states. Tornado Warning: Take Action! A tornado has been sighted or indicated by weather radar.