What's the difference between tornado warning and tornado watch?

A tornado watch is issued when weather conditions exist in which a tornado may occur. It covers a large area. A tornado warning is issued when a tornado has been spotted or is suspected. The warning covers the direction the tornado is expected to travel and is a relatively narrow path.