Where was the world's first bungee jump?

According to the BBC, the world's first bungee jump was from the Clifton Suspension Bridge in Bristol on April 1, 1979, and was undertaken by members of the Oxford University Dangerous Sports Club. It led to the birth of a worldwide sport.