What is the black knight?

Per the web: Black Knight (Dane Whitman) is a fictional superhero character appearing in Marvel Comics comic books. created by writer Roy Thomas and artist John Buscema, he is the third character to bear the Black Knight name. He first appeared in The Avengers #47