What's the battle of gettysburg?

Gettysburg was the pivotal battle of the American Civil War. RE Lee had marched his army into Maryland and Pennsylvania in hopes of cutting off the Union access to Washington, DC, but partially due to a lost set of orders, the Union was able to cut off Lee and eventually win the 3 day battle.