What is an i. l.?

The abbreviation IL is the postal symbol for the state of Illinois. In text, it can mean In Love or I Laugh, depending on the context. IL can also mean Indigenous Language, Independent Living, International Law, Independent Laboratory, Intermediate Level, or Indicator Light.