What is the vicks index?

It's spelled V-I-X. The Volatility Index, or VIX, is a real-time market index that represents the market's expectation of 30-day forward-looking volatility. Derived from the price inputs of the S&P 500 index options, it gives a measure of market risk and investors' sentiments.