How long do birds nest for?

In general, most songbirds nest, or fledge, for about 2 weeks. Larger birds, like woodpeckers, take up to 3 weeks to a month to fledge. Ducks, shorebirds and gamebirds leave their nests immediately after hatching. Raptors can remain in nests for as long as 8 to 10 weeks.