What is wrong with stephen colbert's ear?

Stephen Colbert's "wonky ear" was caused by surgery on his right ear when he was 10 to repair a severely perforated eardrum. It ended up causing inner ear damage and left him deaf in his right ear. It also caused the "wonky ear" that we know and love about him.