What is a red panda?

The red panda, which is not related to the panda bear, is a mammal native to the eastern Himalayas and southwestern China. Its red coloration with white fur around its eyes is reminiscent of a panda bear but it is roughly the size of a house cat. It is currently listed as endangered.