How did the edmund fitzgerald sink?

In 1977, the U.S Coast Guard pinned the sinking on massive flooding of the cargo hold caused by faulty or poorly fastened hatch covers. The slow flooding went unnoticed by the captain and crew until it caused a fatal buoyancy loss and eventually sent the Fitzgerald plunging to the bottom.