What is a first cousin once removed?

According to WhoAreYouMadeOf.com, a first cousin once-removed is the child of one of your first cousins. Or the first cousin of one of your parents. The “once-removed” comes from the fact that one of you is one generation further away from the common ancestor than the other one.