Why was america in the vietnam war?

After the rise of Communism in Russia, the US was afraid the southeast Asian countries would become Communist too. This was called the Domino Theory. After WWII, France wanted to reclaim its colony which had fallen to Japan, but when they failed, the US took over the war to stop Russian expansion.